For Smart Couples…Forget the Recession! Learn how to pay 1960's Prices for everything from salad dressing to dressing up for a night out!

Well (new) friends and (online) neighbors, it’s official…Mike and I are engaged! But amidst the feel-good frenzy of well-wishes and congratulations, a single question edged its way into my brain and refused to be ignored: How in the heck were we going to pay for a wedding?? Neither of us comes from old-money or new-money or any kind of money at all, really. It’s a safe bet to say that we are going to be responsible for…oh, roughly 95% of any and all wedding/honeymoon related costs! Add those whopping expenses to the house and the car we are already (casually) saving up for, and it’s a safe bet our hard-earned money has quite a workout in front of it! Being a childless couple, we’re a bit spoiled when it comes to bar crawls, dinners at our favorite Caribbean restaurant, adding to an ever-growing Blue-Ray collection, and going on four-hour impromptu home decor shopping sprees (OK, that last one’s mostly me!) We need to learn to embrace the fine art of frugality with flair and creativity!

Naturally, I turned to the web for tips, tricks and advice. And in doing so, this blog was born. Needless to say, there is a vast amount of information, articles, websites, and blogs geared towards saving money/frugality/ thriftiness /etc. out there on the web. We are, after all, in the midst of a recession. But most of it is directed at stay-at-home moms raising multiple children. As half of a young, newly- engaged, childless couple, none of these blogs or websites really speak to me. And if you asked my fiance to read any of them, I’m pretty sure his eyes would glaze over by paragraph two.

*I want to know how to cook affordable  ethnic cuisine and serve it on gorgeous vintage china…not learn how to make kid-friendly casseroles.

*I want to continue to decorate our apartment (and eventually, our house) in my normal eclectic/bohemian/modern Moroccan theme, and to do it on a dime…not learn how to create inexpensive artwork with framed fridge art.

*I want to have amazing nights out on the town with friends…not host a book club at home for the gals on my street.

*I want to take spur of the moment road trips to fun and lively destinations on a shoestring…not book a Disney World vacation during off-season for a week.

Please, don’t get me wrong, there is nothing wrong with the married-with-children lifestyle; I hope to be there one day! But right now it’s just not us, and I know there are tons of you out there who agree with me! And you want to save money too with super-thrifty tactics that are just as ruthless as the ones that are blogged about by all the stay-at-home-moms and work-at-home-moms out there.  But you want advice and tips geared more toward your lifestyle. Remember: Moms, you’re more than welcome on any blog of mine!

So…I’m setting out to fill the niche and write the blog! Learn with me, experiment with me, have fun with me…save money with me! Whether you are saving money for your dream wedding, your dream car, or your dream house (or all three, like me!), this blog can help you do it. I’m getting ready to uncover the secrets to stash the cash and still have the life I want!

What do you think? Join in the conversation!

